Louisiana State Board of
Chiropractic Examiners

CHIROPRACTIC PRACTICE ALERTS

 
 

L S B C E
Home Page

Mission Statement

Board Officers
& Members

Peer Review Committee

Executive
Director

What's New

Education

Licensure

Forms

Special Services

Library

Calendar

Statutes and Rules

Practice Alerts

Contact Us

 

 

CHIROPRACTIC PRACTICE ALERTS  

These "alerts" are provided by the Board  to alert licensees to items of recent interest that may impact their practice.

04/06/06:

1) CE vouchers must be submitted with license renewal paperwork from the licensee and will not accepted at any other time during the year or from any other source.

2) The CE voucher should have the seminar approval number, which was assigned to it by the Board, on the voucher.

3) HIPAA regulations have now made healthcare fraud a federal crime. 

 

07/27/06:

1) Any chiropractic assistant who takes x-rays must be 18 years of age, a high school graduate or equivalent, and have completed a course in x-ray function and safety approved by the LA Board of Chiropractic Examiners. Violation of the related statute can result in as much as a $50.00 per day fine.

2)  When reporting procedures to third-parties, the most accurate and current CPT code should be used.  Be careful of accepting vendor-provided codes.  There have been cases in the past where these codes were incorrect.

 

09/14/06:

1)     Impaired Physician Program:

Effective July 20, 2006, the LA Board of Chiropractic Examiners began a new program for the rehabilitation of a chiropractor who is impaired by substance abuse or other mental or physical conditions.  Physicians wishing to enroll themselves in this program may call the Board office for information.  In addition, chiropractors may be recommended to the program by any concerned third-party. The identities of participants in this program will remain confidential unless required by law.  (See LAC 46:XXVII.701 et seq)

2)     “Free” Advertising:

Advertisement, which offers free goods or services or discounts, must contain the usual charge for the service even if the chiropractor does not normally charge for the service.  Please reference Page 27 and 20 in your “blue book” (LAC 46:XXVII. 307 - 308)

 

07/26/07:

1)       Baccalaureate degree requirement:

Beginning 07/01/2011, each applicant for licensure shall hold a baccalaureate degree from a college or university approved by an accrediting agency of the US Department of Education.   (Act 44 of 2007 LA Legislature (HB 387)

 2)       Delinquent license renewal fees increase:

Effective 08/15/07, the delinquent license renewal fee will increase to $250.00 for any license not renewed by December 31st and further, after 60 days of 12/31, the fee shall increase by $100.00 for each additional month or each part of the month that the renewal has not been paid.  (Act 44 of 2007 LA Legislature (HB 387) 

3)       Reciprocity license requirements:

Effective 08/15/07, reciprocity licensure requirements will change to: “…has maintained a license and has been in active practice in good standing in another jurisdiction for five consecutive years immediately prior to his  application…”.  (Act 44 of 2007 LA Legislature (HB 387)

 

 

06/02/2009:

Effective May 20, 2009, the LA Board of Chiropractic Examiners published rules in the “Louisiana Register” as required by law relative to patient solicitation.  Particular attention should be paid to the following:

§310.  Accident and Disaster Solicitation

A.  On the outside of each solicitation letter in 10-point bold type at the bottom left hand corner of the envelope, there will be printed in red, capital letters, "THIS IS AN ADVERTISEMENT".

 B.  On the body of each solicitation letter, in the same type size as the letter, shall be contained the following paragraph in red lettering:

NOTICE:  THIS IS AN ADVERTISEMENT.  Your name and address and information relative to the accident in which you were involved were acquired from police documents.  You are under no obligation to respond to this letter.  Recipients of this advertisement should understand the importance of employing a health care provider and inquiry into the doctor's qualifications and experience is recommended.

 C.  No solicitation letters shall be sent to minors.

 D.  All solicitation letters shall be submitted to the board before publication to assure compliance with this rule and all other applicable board regulations.  The board has six weeks to respond to this request.

 E.  A sample copy of each different solicitation letter shall be retained by the sender for a period of one year.

 F.  No solicitation letter to an accident victim should be sent before at least seven days have elapsed since the date of the accident.

 G. Telemarketing, telephonic solicitation, digital communication by phone or communication by licensees and/or chiropractic facilities and their employees, or agents, by contract or otherwise, to victims of accidents or disaster shall be considered unethical if carried out within 30 days of the accident or disaster, and subject the licensee and/or chiropractic facility to action pursuant to R.S. 37:2804.

 H. Telemarketing, telephonic solicitation, digital communication by phone or communication transcripts shall be regulated by the board and such transcripts shall be submitted to the board 60 days prior to use.  The board shall reject or accept the transcript within 60 days of receipt by the board office.  If the transcript is rejected, the board shall give the reasons for its rejection. No solicitation under this section may be used until approved by the board.

 I. The telemarketing, telephonic solicitation, digital communication by phone or communication transcripts, taped and/or digital recording of the solicitation shall be maintained for a period of three years following their utilization.  A log of the contact information and date of contact must be maintained for a period of three years, following the telemarketing encounter.  Transcripts and logs shall be made available to the board upon request within 10 business days.

 

10/22/09:

Continuing Education Requirements Change For “Risk Management” CE:

          Effective from Board action of 10/22/2009, for the 2011 license renewal, you will be required to attend and present proof of attendance of at least 3 hours in “record keeping” or “documentation” for the 6 hours “risk management” CE requirements. 

The total 18 hours “continuing education” due for the 2011 license renewal must be:

·         reviewed and approved by the LA Board of Chiropractic Examiners,

·         the 6 “RM” CE hours must contain at least 3 hours of “record keeping” or “documentation” and

·         must be earned in the 2010 calendar year.

This requirement will remain in effect for the “RM” renewal requirements and RM renewal years until further notice!

 

12/10/2009:

X-Ray Employee Credentials:  Prior to hiring an employee as a chiropractic x-ray technician, it is strongly urged that each licensee check the potential employee’s credentials and verify with the employee as well as the Board that the person holds a valid and active x-ray proficiency certificate issued by the Board. 

 Delinquent License Renewal Fee & Possible Subsequent Fine:     Any license renewal received (postmarked) after December 31st of each year shall be delinquent.  The current delinquent fee shall be imposed and therefore due before the license will be renewed.  The date the completed renewal is received at the Board office will be the date the license goes back into effect.  Subsequently, the Board’s Complaint Committee will review the delinquent license renewals and make an “informal inquiry” through the Complaints process.  If warranted, further delinquent fee/fine penalties may be imposed.

X-Ray Reports:     CPT codes for plain film radiology require a signed report by the physician who reads them. This is considered part of the procedure.  If the interpretation and report is performed by a physician other than the one who takes the films then a -26 modifier to the code should be used.

Patient Referrals:   It has come to the Board’s attention that there are companies attempting to provide chiropractors with “sales lead” information regarding new patients.  This information is provided to the chiropractor for a fee.  It is the Board’s opinion that this violates LSA R.S. 37: 1745 which prohibits chiropractors from paying for referrals.  Any chiropractor using these services will be considered to be violating the law.

06/16/2016:

Claims Review:   Claims Review work performed by out of state practitioners who are commenting on the appropriateness of care is deemed practicing chiropractic and therefore a LA chiropractic license is required.

10/13/2016:

Address Change Requirements:   The Board will be actively enforcing the "address change requirements" as contained in LA statutes and regulations.   A complaint will be initiated on any licensee who does not file an address change with the Board office.

01/19/2017:

CE Seminar Providers:  Requests for CE seminar review applications must be received in the same calendar year which the course is given.